Chateau de Colliers was designed by architect Jacques Gabriel, the king's personal architect and built in 1751 by the Chevalier de Bela. The knight was a secret agent for Louis XV and had the castle built so that he could live clandestinely with his mistress, Miss de Chauloy. The side facing the the Loire River was done in an Italian style, while the south side facing the courtyard honors the style of Mansart.
The second owner of this alluring and romantic residence was the Marquis de Vaudreuil, the last French governor of the Louisiana territory before France sold it to the U.S. The marquis died without having an heir, so the castle was acquired by the de Gelis family in 1783 and has been in the family ever since. In 1810 the de Gelis family was named to membership in French nobility by Charles X.
Legend has it that a young woman named Eléonore, one of the mistresses of François 1, once lived on the estate. Heartbroken one night after the king failed to show up for an expected rendezvous, she threw herself into the Loire River. Eléonore returns every so often to see if the king is back.
Come experience the Loire Valley and discover the tranquil beauty of the French country side. Enjoy unbeatable views of the Loire from your room or open a bottle of wine on the terrace and dream, taking in breathtaking sunsets while listening to the soft murmur of water flowing over the rocks in the river.
The quiet pastoral beauty of this special place attracts a large variety of migratory birds making it possible to observe them throughout the year.
The location of the Chateau de Colliers makes it the ideal starting point for visiting the big castles: Chambord, Chenonceaux, Cheverny, Blois, ...
Breakfast is served in a room that is classified as historically significant and is registered. The room has frescos on all four walls and the ceiling.